Christmas at the Little Waffle Shack by Helen J Rolfe @HJRolfe @rararesources

Christmas at the Little Waffle Shack

Helen J Rolfe

Heritage Cove is in full swing for the festive season and as the temperature dips, who will be lucky in love this Christmas?

It’s December in Heritage Cove and along with the village Christmas tree, frosty mornings and the promise of the most wonderful time of the year, the new waffle shack is about to open. And its owner isn’t a stranger to the Cove, because after all this time, Daniel is back to make amends with his brother Harvey – as well as a few other locals he might have offended along the way.

Fairly new to the village, local blacksmith Lucy has kept up the pretence of being with her ex for the sake of his gran but she’s fed up with all the lies. Determined to come clean and live the life she wants to live, she’s devastated to find that her attraction to Daniel is tainted by the fact he’s hiding a few things of his own. And his secrets are ones she isn’t sure she’ll ever be able to get past.

Heritage Cove is full of friendship and community; it’s a welcoming place people visit and never want to leave. But will it work its magic for Daniel and Lucy?

A festive read packed with Christmas romance, love and second chances, this is Book 2 in a series of standalone novels set in Heritage Cove, the little village by the sea…

A wonderful romantic treat perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan, Jill Mansell and Emily Harvale

 

Purchase Link

My Thoughts

I’ve read a few Christmas novels by Helen J Rolfe and know that a beautiful, festive and uplifting read is always guaranteed.

Christmas at the Little Waffle Shack is set in the small village community of Heritage Cove where everyone knows everyone.

Daniel has secretly returned to the cove to renovate and open a waffle shack. He has not only returned to open the new business but to reconnect with family and friends. He is apprehensive of a warm welcome from brother Harvey and needs to reassure everyone that he is a reformed character.

Lucy has taken over the blacksmith business and concentrates on bespoke items ordered from local  customers. She is also seeking a fresh start after a divorce and is instantly attracted to the handsome new waffle shop owner.

I loved all the beautiful imagery of the breathtaking decorations and traditional elements like carol singing and the nativity scene. The descriptions of the piping hot , golden waffles with Christmas flavoured ice cream sounded just delicious.

All the characters were well developed and completely relatable. I liked that Lucy was a blacksmith, a career usually dominated by men, and I enjoyed learning more about this ancient trade.

A wonderful, descriptive Christmas story which is full of secrets, romance and mouthwatering treats.

Thank you to Rachels Random Resources, the author and publisher for a copy of the book, which I have reviewed honestly.

More Helen J. Rolfe Book Reviews

Christmas at the Little Knitting Box

Christmas Miracles at the Little Log Cabin

 

About The Author

Helen J Rolfe writes contemporary women’s fiction and enjoys weaving stories about family, friendship, secrets, and community. Characters often face challenges and must fight to overcome them, but above all, Helen’s stories always have a happy ending.

Location is a big part of the adventure in Helen’s books and she enjoys setting stories in different cities and countries around the world. So far, locations have included Melbourne, Sydney, New York, Connecticut, Bath and the Cotswolds.

Helen also writes for Orion Books under the name Helen Rolfe. Her new series, Cafe at the End of the Pier, is out in 2018 and begins with a Valentine’s short story.

Born and raised in the UK, Helen graduated from University with a business degree and began working in I.T. This job took her over to Australia and it was there that she studied writing and journalism and began writing for women’s health and fitness magazines. She also volunteered with the PR department of a children’s hospital where she wrote articles and media releases. Helen began writing fiction in 2011 and hasn’t missed the I.T. world one little bit, although the I.T. skills have come in handy of course, especially when it comes to creating and maintaining a website.

After fourteen years of living in Australia, Helen returned to the UK and now lives in Hertfordshire with her husband and their children

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: