The Couple on Cedar Close by Anna – Lou Weatherley

The Couple on Cedar Close by Anna – Lou Weatherley

One sunny August afternoon, the residents of Cedar Close throw their annual summer barbecue. Children play in the cherry-tree lined street, tables are laden with food, and the wine is flowing. For Laurie Mills, it’s her first time meeting the neighbours. And it’s the first time she discovers her husband Robert is having an affair.

Cedar Close has always been a nice place to live – a quiet suburban street where everyone looks out for one another and bad things don’t happen.

Until late one evening, when Robert Mills is found dead in his bedroom.

Downstairs, in their beautiful kitchen, his wife Laurie sits alone in the dark with her head in her hands.

She can’t remember the last few hours, but she knows she didn’t kill Robert.

The trouble is, no-one believes her…

An utterly gripping page-turner about the dark secrets that lie behind closed doors. Perfect for fans of JP Delaney’s The Girl Before and Gone Girl, The Couple on Cedar Close will keep you reading late into the night

cover154908-medium

Purchase Link

My Thoughts

When Laurie Mills awakes from a drunken stupor she finds her estranged husband dead and herself covered in blood. She can’t remember anything from the night before and finds herself the prime suspect. Laurie and Robert’s relationship is complicated and the police find out that there are many sides to Robert’s character. DI Dan Riley suspects that this is not a clear cut domestic murder, nothing adds up and he needs to find out what really happened.

This is an engaging thriller, with plenty of suspense, twists, and turns. Anyone who likes to delve into the workings of the mind of a psychopath will really soak up this compelling story. I was glad that the loose ends added up at the end of the book and enjoyed the uncomplicated writing style. D I Dan Riley is a clever detective with strong instincts and a desire to uncover the truth, I look forward to reading more books in the series.

Many thanks to Bookouture (via NetGalley) for a copy of the book, which I have reviewed honestly.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: