The First Time I Saw You by Emma Cooper

The First Time I Saw You

 Emma Cooper

Today I am over the moon to join the blog tour for The First Time I Saw You. Many thanks to Anne Cater, the author, and Headline for a copy of the book, which I have reviewed honestly.

Here is more about the book…

From the author of The Songs of Us comes a love story that will ‘break your heart but put it back together again’, (Katie Fforde). Fans of Jojo Moyes and Lucy Dillon will love The First Time I Saw You by Emma Cooper.

Lost:
Six-foot-two Irish man who answers to the name Samuel McLaughlin. Has weak shins and enjoys show tunes.
If found, please return to Sophie Williams.

Before Sophie met Samuel she saw the world in grey.
Before Samuel met Sophie, he never believed in love at first sight.

When they first meet, something tells them they are meant to be. But fate has other ideas.

Now they have lost each other and can’t see a way back. But they’ve already changed each other’s lives in more ways

than they ever expected…

First Time I Saw You BT Poster

Purchase Link

My Thoughts on The First Time I Saw You

Emma Cooper is a new author for me. Her debut The Story Of Us was highly praised so I was eager to start reading The First Time I Saw You.

This multi-leveled love story is set in various locations starting with Washington DC, then on to Ireland and Wales. The short chapters alternate between the narration of both Sophie and Samuel so I felt that I got to know both characters equally. The cast of supporting characters really tore at my heartstrings especially Sophie’s neighbour Charlie and the wonderful McLaughlin’s who are Samuel’s parents. Their Irish charm and witty one-liners bought incredible warmth, compassion, and humour to the story.

Sophie and Samuel share a brief romance in the US where they are both working. Sadly events take place which lead them to lose contact and during this time they both experience life-changing events. In both cases, you get a strong feeling that the clock is ticking and this adds suspense and tension to the story.

The writing is so detailed that you become completely invested in the lives of the main characters.  The descriptions of intangible things like the weather, vision and mental health problems are so vivid you can almost physically feel exactly what the characters are experiencing.

I went through so many emotions reading this book. At times I laughed through tears, screamed with frustration, cried with sympathy and nodded my head at this relatable and emotive story. This is so much more than a love story, it’s a beautiful journey described so eloquently by a highly skilled author.

I know it’s very early in the year but this has to be one of my favourite reads this year. With 2020 starting with books like this I am excited to see what else we have in store. I am really looking forward to reading The Story Of Us very soon.

About The Author

Emma Cooper Author

Emma Cooper is a former teaching assistant, who lives in Shropshire with her partner and four children. She spends her spare time writing novels, drinking wine and watching box-sets with her partner of twenty-four years, who still makes her smile every day. Emma has always wanted to be a writer – ever since childhood, she’s been inventing characters (her favourite being her imaginary friend ‘Boot’) and is thrilled that she now gets to use this imagination to bring to life all of her creations. Find her on Twitter at @ItsEmmacooper and on Instagram at @itsemmacooper

  1 comment for “The First Time I Saw You by Emma Cooper

  1. 13th January 2020 at 9:31 am

    Thanks for the blog tour support xx

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: