Escape To Giddywell Grange by Kim Nash

Escape To Giddywell Grange

Kim Nash

A dog’s life is just what Maddy needs

Maddy Young thought she had it all.

Swanky city apartment? – yep. Fancy car? sorted. High-flying career? – tick.

Even if she’s lost most of her friends because of spending all her time at work, and can’t remember when she last had fun, it’s worth it.

Until she’s suddenly made redundant. Now she’s 37, jobless, and after the breakup with the former love of her life, unhappily single.

Enter Maddy’s childhood friend, Beth, the owner of Growlers, the doggy daycare centre at Giddywell Grange, on a mission to make Maddy see there’s more to life than work.

Soon, Maddy is swapping spreadsheets for volunteer duty at the library, daily Starbucks for cups of tea with elderly neighbours, and her Prada handbag for doggy poo bags… And with Beth’s gorgeous brother, Alex, back from the States, Maddy starts to think that Giddywell Grange might just be her happy place.

But when her old life – and her old boyfriend – comes calling, will Maddy go back to the job she loved so much? Or will she discover that the key to happiness lies in making others happy?

An uplifting romantic comedy that will warm your heart – perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Milly Johnson and Katie Fforde.

Escape To Giddywell Grange

My Thoughts

I really enjoyed this warm, upbeat book that features main character Maddy, a high flying workaholic with the lifestyle to go with it. When she is unexpectedly made redundant she has to dig deep and re-evaluate her whole life.

Helped by best friend Beth she finds herself wearing dungarees, cleaning kennels and visiting members of the community. Beth needs help at her doggy daycare business and Maddy has plenty of hours to fill, so she steps in and finds that she doesn’t miss the corporate lifestyle one bit.

There are a host of wonderful, warm characters all with wonderful stories to share. Of course, there are plenty of dogs, especially Baxter who just stole my heart. I found Maddy really likable and had my fingers crossed that she would find the romance she deserves. The story was inspiring, relatable and hard to put down.

At this time of year when commercialism is at its highest, this book has a very important message. It’s that you don’t need flashy cars, designer handbags, and luxurious surroundings…you just need to spend time with those you are closest to, do what makes you truly happy and show kindness to others.

Purchase Link

Many thanks to the publisher for a copy of the book, which I have reviewed honestly.

  2 comments for “Escape To Giddywell Grange by Kim Nash

  1. 19th December 2019 at 7:45 am

    I love the name of it. Giddywell Grange makes me smile every time I see it.

    • waggytalesdogblog
      19th December 2019 at 10:55 am

      Me too! and the doggy daycare called Growlers..so funny. Thank you for visiting.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: