Another You by Jane Cable (Book Review)

Another You by Jane Cable

Today I am happy to join the blog tour for Another You by Jane Cable. 

Thank you to Caoimhe from Sapere Books for the invite to join the tour.

Description

A book that will stay with you long after the story ends! Perfect for fans of Diane Chamberlain, Nora Roberts, Lorna Cook and Victoria Connelly.

Sometimes the hardest person to save is yourself… 

Marie Johnson fell in love with The Smugglers pub when she first moved to Dorset with her husband, Stephen.

But when Stephen’s wandering eye caused the breakdown of their marriage, and the costs of running the pub started to mount, Marie felt her dreams crashing down around her.

With local celebrations planned for the 60th anniversary of D-Day, Marie is hopeful things will turn around.

But she could never have predicted the ways her life will soon be changed forever.

A charming American soldier walks into Marie’s life, but it becomes clear nothing is really as it seems…

Why is Marie suddenly plagued by headaches? Is her American soldier everything he seems to be? 

Or could the D-Day re-enactments be stirring up something from the past…?

ANOTHER YOU is a moving saga of family life in the 21st century which draws on the horrors of combat, both in modern times and the Second World War. It is a heart-warming tale of one woman’s fight to reclaim her identity and discover what really matters to her.

Another You

Purchase Link

My Thoughts

Marie Johnson is the chef at the Smugglers pub which she part-owns with ex-partner Stephen. She loves the atmospheric and breathtakingly beautiful location of the pub but feels trapped with endless hours of cooking and a bullying ex always looking over her shoulder. To escape the tension and ease the pain of debilitating migraines she walks the clifftops of Studland Bay seeking peace and calm. On one of her solitary walks, she meets Corbin an American serviceman and begins to look forward to meeting him again.

Studland Bay is preparing to celebrate the anniversary of the D Day landings and to remember the serviceman who lost their lives. Marie connects with war veteran George and his son Mark when they visit the pub in search of home cooking. I have to give a small mention to Mark’s dog Troy who was utterly adorable and made the story so enjoyable for me.

Another American enters Marie’s life and a spark of romance ignites. However, with financial strains and an unreliable business partner, Marie’s life is unravelling around her. Will she find her desired happy ending, or is her troubled mind playing tricks with her?

This is a poignant , atmospheric book with beautiful writing by Jane Cable which creatively connects the past with the future. The descriptions of the Dorset coastline are breathtaking and the characters just make you want to keep turning the pages. There are many elements to the plot, as well as a strong sense of history, there is a ghostly mystery, romance, and some serious issues are covered sensitively. I felt connected to Marie, who at times seemed so lost and haunted by her past. I really wanted her to regain the carefree existence she once had, even if it meant leaving the place she called home.

Wonderful…. dark yet enlightening, gentle but strong, I loved it!

Another You blog tour poster

 

About The Author

Jane Cable 2019

Although brought up in Cardiff, Jane Cable now lives in Cornwall and is a full time writer. Another You is a moving saga of family life in the 21st century which draws on the horrors of combat, both in modern times and World War Two as down-trodden Marie fights to reclaim her identity and discover what really matters to her. Jane’s next book, Winter Skies, will be available for pre-order from Sapere Books soon.

 

 

  2 comments for “Another You by Jane Cable (Book Review)

  1. Veronica The Burgeoning Bookshelf
    16th August 2019 at 9:21 am

    Great review. I really enjoyed this book too. It was a captivating read and hard to put down.

    • waggytalesdogblog
      16th August 2019 at 11:27 am

      I love being close to the sea ,it felt like I was actully there. Thank you xx

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: