Victory For The East End Angels by Rosie Hendry

Victory For The East End Angels by Rosie Hendry

Today I will be joining the blog tour for Victory for the East End Angels by Rosie Hendry.

Thank you to Rachel’s Random Resources for the tour invite and copy of the book, which I have reviewed honestly.

I hope you can call in at other stops of the tour to see what these lovely book bloggers think of the book.

Victory For The East End Angels Full Tour Banner.jpg

Victory for the East End Angels

The war is almost over – and it’s up to the East End Angels to keep the home fires burning!

Frankie‘s fiance, a doctor, is away looking after the troops in Europe – will he return safely home?

Winnie has a happy secret – but can she carry on at Station 75 when she’s going to have a baby?

Bella is intrigued by her new friend, a Polish airman.

As the war ends and victory is in sight, what next for the girls of Station 75?

A gorgeously uplifting saga for fans of Ellie Dean and Donna Douglas

Victory Cover

 –Purchase Link

My Thoughts

I previously read a book in this series, Christmas With The East End Angels  ,and really enjoyed it, so I couldn’t wait to see what was in store for Frankie, Winnie and Bella this time.

The girls worked together throughout the blitz in the East End of London as ambulance workers.  Their work is heartbreaking yet so essential and it has meant that the girls now have a tight, unbreakable bond. The people of the East End have seen families destroyed and homes are gone forever. Many still yearn for loved ones to return, the women show incredible strength but also the losses really take there toll.

As I said in the previous book, Rosie Hendry has researched this time in history so well that you feel it could be a factual story. It is a pleasure to read about the friendship of the girls but also get a real insight into their lives separately too.

There are so many wonderful characters, especially the other stationhouse staff. If you like WWII sagas, you will love reading about the girls of Station 75 (London Auxiliary Ambulance Service). It is heartwarming, insightful and authentic. I feel sad that this lovely series had to come to an end.

Victory author photo.jpg

Author Bio – Rosie Hendry lives by the sea in Norfolk with her husband, two children, chickens and a snake. She’s worked in a variety of jobs from fruit picking, waitressing, teaching and as a research scientist but has always loving reading and writing. Starting off writing short stories for women’s magazines, her stories have gradually become longer as her children have grown bigger.

Listening to her father’s tales of life during the Second World War sparked Rosie’s interest in this period and she’s especially intrigued by how women’s lives changed during the war years. She loves researching further, searching out gems of real-life events which inspire her writing.

When she’s not working, Rosie enjoys walking along the beach, reading and is grateful for the fact that her husband is a much better cook than her.

Website: www.rosiehendry.com

Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/RosieHendrybooks/

Twitterhttps://twitter.com/hendry_rosie

 

  5 comments for “Victory For The East End Angels by Rosie Hendry

  1. 28th July 2019 at 6:31 pm

    Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review Victory, Lou. It’s lovely to have you being part of the blog tour.

    • waggytalesdogblog
      28th July 2019 at 7:47 pm

      Thank you so much Rosie

    • waggytalesdogblog
      29th July 2019 at 11:08 pm

      So sad this series has to end. Thank you too.

      • 1st August 2019 at 12:06 pm

        I know, it was an emotional write but felt like the right thing to do with Station 75 closing. I miss writing about them, though!

      • waggytalesdogblog
        1st August 2019 at 12:41 pm

        I can always read them again and I’m sure you have lots of great stories up your sleeve.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: