The Killer You Know by S R Masters (Book Review)

The Killer You Know by S R Masters

Today I am taking part in the Blog Tour for The Killer You Know by S R Masters. Thank you to Anne Cater from Random Things Tours, the publisher, and the author for a copy of the book, which I have reviewed honestly.

th1.jpg

What if your childhood friend turned out to be a serial killer? 

‘Gripping, compelling’ LAURA MARSHALL
‘A thrilling, nostalgic, twisty read’ CLAIRE ALLEN
‘A fantastic killer concept’ SAM CARRINGTON

A gripping, atmospheric debut psychological thriller – perfect for fans of Ruth Ware, Alex Marwood and Ali Land.

************

When Will jokes about becoming a serial killer, his friends just laugh it off. But Adeline can’t help but feel there’s something more sinister lurking behind his words.

Fifteen years later, Adeline returns to Blythe for a reunion of the old gang – except Will doesn’t show up. Reminiscing about old times, they look up the details of his supposed murder spree. But the mood soon changes when they discover two recent deaths that match.

As the group attempts to track Will down, they realise that he is playing a sinister game that harks back to one they used to play as kids. Only this time there are lives at stake

thumbnail

Purchase Link

My Review

I really enjoyed this debut novel from SR Masters. The dual timeline plot was compelling right from the start and the references to movies and music of the nineties gave a  nostalgic feel.

A set of five teenagers pass the time together during the school holidays of 1997. During one of their conversations, Will casually states that he intends to become a serial killer, then simply disappear. The group is quick to dismiss the eerie remark, but with Adeline, it really strikes a chord.  When Will fails to turn up to a group reunion in 2015 his words flood back and the friends know that they have to find him.

All the characters have depth and relatable backstories, the plot twists and keeps the reader guessing. The story explores friendships, mind games, group dynamics and much more. I will look out for more from SR Masters and would happily recommend this atmospheric, thought-provoking and cleverly plotted crime thriller.

S R Master Author Picture

About The Author

S R. Masters studied Philosophy at Girton College, Cambridge before working in public health and health behaviour for the NHS. He is a regular contributor to UK short fiction anthology series The Fiction Desk, having won their Writer’s Award for his short story Just Kids. His story Desert Walk was included in Penguin Random House USA’s Press Start to Play collection and he continues to have short fiction published in a variety of magazines. He grew up around Birmingham but now lives in Oxford with his wife and son.

The Killer You Know is his first novel.

You can find him on Twitter @SRMastersAuthor or on his website http://www.sr-masters.com/

 

FOR MORE INFORMATION PLEASE CONTACT MILLIE SEAWARD, PUBLICITY MANAGER

Millie.seaward@littlebrown.co.uk |0203 122 6757 |@millieseaward


What people are saying about THE KILLER YOU KNOW:

‘I read and loved and HEARTILY recommend for any fans of STAND BY ME . . . A thrilling, nostalgic twisty read‘ CLAIRE ALLEN, author of HER NAME WAS ROSE

‘The Killer You Know has a fantastic killer concept... and is gripping and creepy to boot – loved it’ SAM CARRINGTON, author of BAD SISTER

A twisty, clever exploration of claustrophobic childhood friendships and the darkness they can lead to’ DERVLA MCTIERNAN, author of THE RUIN

A compelling, unpredictable thriller that conveys the changing nature of long-lasting friendships beautifully. How well do we know even our closest of friends? Highly recommended’ ELISABETH CARPENTER, author of 99 RED BALLOONS

‘An original and gripping thriller combined with an evocative coming of age story that will be achingly familiar’ LAURA MARSHALL, author of FRIEND REQUEST

‘A gripping, compelling read with a brilliant premise and a wonderfully twisting storyline. An incredible debut‘ TM LOGAN, author of LIES

‘A thrilling read and an exceptional debut novel’ RACHEL EDWARDS, author of DARLING

‘Compelling, creepy, and brilliantly executed, THE KILLER YOU KNOW is an original new voice in the thriller world’ PHOEBE MORGAN, author of THE DOLL HOUSE

‘Brilliantly atmospheric tale of toxic friendship, with a killer hook – what if one of your gang turned out to be a serial killer? Loved it’ LIZ BARNSLEY, lizlovesbooks.com

 

  1 comment for “The Killer You Know by S R Masters (Book Review)

  1. 7th May 2019 at 2:33 pm

    Thanks so much for the blog tour support Lou x

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: