Blog Tour, The Oceans Between Us by Gill Thompson @annecater @wordkindling

The Oceans Between Us by Gill Thompson

Today I am thrilled to be part of the Blog Tour for The Oceans Between Us by Gill Thompson.

Thank you so much to Anne Cater from Random Things Tours, the author, and publisher for a copy of the book which I have reviewed honestly.

The Oceans Between Us Blog Tour Poster

Inspired by heartrending real events, a mother fights to find her son and a child battles for survival in this riveting debut novel.

For readers of Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate, Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly, The Letter by Kathryn Hughes, and Remember Me by Lesley Pearse.

‘A warm-hearted tale of love, loss and indefatigable human spirit’ Kathryn Hughes

A woman is found wandering injured in London after an air raid. She remembers nothing of who she is. Only that she has lost something very precious.

As the little boy waits in the orphanage, he hopes his mother will return. But then he finds himself on board a ship bound for Australia, the promise of a golden life ahead, and wonders: how will she find him in a land across the oceans?

In Perth, a lonely wife takes in the orphaned child. But then she discovers the secret of his past. Should she keep quiet? Or tell the truth and risk losing the boy who has become her life?

This magnificent, moving novel, set in London and Australia, is testament to the strength of the human spirit and the enduring power of love.

Oceans Between Us Cover

Purchase Link

My Review

This is the story of Molly and her young son Jack who sadly got separated in the Blitz when a bomb landed close to their home.

Molly’s husband had already been killed in the war and mother and son were everything to each other. Unlike other parents, Molly had decided not to send Jack away to the country like the other evacuee children. After losing her husband at sea she wanted to keep her son close by, despite the dangers from the bombing.

The bomb struck close to their home, leaving Molly without any memory except an unexplainable feeling that she had lost something. Jack was at school so he was unhurt but told that his mother had died in the bombing blitz. He was sent to an orphanage, then later to Australia with a promise of a ‘land full of sunshine’ where they would live on huge farms, drive tractors and learn to ride horses.

Would the promises be fulfilled and would Molly ever recover enough to remember her beloved son?

This is such a heart-wrenching debut novel from Gill Thompson. A story based on actual events which will have you glued to the pages of this harrowing story. I was unable to put the book down until I knew if poor Molly would ever be reunited with her son, despite them being on opposite sides of the World. An outstanding debut.

Gill Thompson Author Picture

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

 

Gill Thompson is an English lecturer who recently completed an MA in Creative Writing at Chichester University. The first three chapters of THE OCEANS BETWEEN US were longlisted for the Mslexia novel award. She lives with her family in West Sussex and teaches English to college students.

Website: http://www.wordkindling.co.uk/

Twitter: @wordkindling



4 thoughts on “Blog Tour, The Oceans Between Us by Gill Thompson @annecater @wordkindling

Add yours

    1. It’s based on true events, which makes it educational too, I had no idea that this happened. Hope you enjoy it xxx

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: