Christmas with the East End Angels- Rosie Hendry (Book Review)

Christmas with the East End Angels- Rosie Hendry

Today I am joining the Blog Tour for Christmas with the East End Angels by Rosie Hendry. Thank you to lovely Rachel (@rararesources), NetGalley and the author for a copy of the book, which I have reviewed honestly.

Christmas with the East End Angels.png

Christmas with the East End Angels

It’s the most wonderful time of the year – and the East End Angels are working hard to keep Londoners safe.

Frankie is trying hard to keep everything together. She can count on the support of the East End Angels, even in the face of family trouble.

Winnie‘s beloved husband, Mac, is putting himself at risk every day in the bomb disposal unit and she’s finding it hard while he’s away.

Bella is growing in confidence and happiness. Her friendship with Winnie’s brother, James, is getting closer all the time.

Christmas on the Home Front is a hard time with loved ones far away – but the women of the Auxiliary Ambulance service are making do and mending.

A gorgeously uplifting saga for fans of Ellie Dean and Donna Douglas

Christmas with the East End Angels Full Tour Banner

Purchase Links here

My Review

This is the third book in the series but the first one I have read. It worked fine as a standalone but I will be catching up on the other books because I enjoyed this one so much.

The story centres around Frankie, Winnie, and Bella who make up the Ambulance crew of Station 75. The nighttime bombing Blitz has stopped but the girls find plenty to do both at work and at home, including carol singing and organising a concert to help the community.

This time they are joined by a fourth crew member Rose who originates from Austria, she soon becomes friends with the other girls and shares her harrowing backstory.

We find out how the war has affected the girls. Loved ones are still away fighting, food is rationed and there is always the threat of more loss of life. No matter what, the girls are there for each other, the overriding feeling of friendship is truly heartwarming.

Anyone who loves a World War II saga will really enjoy this East End story. It is just what’s needed during the busy run-up to Christmas. So, put the kettle on, choose a comfy chair and let yourself melt into the world of these brave, warm and funny women.

 author photo (1)

Author Bio – Rosie Hendry lives by the sea in Norfolk with her husband, two children, chickens and a snake. She’s worked in a variety of jobs from fruit picking, waitressing, teaching and as a research scientist but has always loving reading and writing. Starting off writing short stories for women’s magazines, her stories have gradually become longer as her children have grown bigger.

Listening to her father’s tales of life during the Second World War sparked Rosie’s interest in this period and she’s especially intrigued by how women’s lives changed during the war years. She loves researching further, searching out gems of real-life events which inspire her writing.

When she’s not working, Rosie enjoys walking along the beach, reading and is grateful for the fact that her husband is a much better cook than her.

Website: www.rosiehendry.com

Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/RosieHendrybooks/

Twitterhttps://twitter.com/hendry_rosie



4 thoughts on “Christmas with the East End Angels- Rosie Hendry (Book Review)

Add yours

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: