One Winter’s Day – Laura Briggs (Book Review)

Today I am so happy to be part of the Blog Blitz for One Winter’s Day by Laura Briggs. Huge thanks to Noelle from Bookouture and the author for asking me to take part and providing a copy of the book, which I have reviewed honestly.

One Winter's Day - Blog Tour

Description:

 If only falling in love was as easy as baking a cake… 

 Ama’s loved baking ever since she can remember. Desserts, cakes, cookies – anything sweet, delicious and sinful. The kitchen is the only place where she can be truly herself.

 But – as she starts work on the biggest cake she has ever made – for a couple’s magical winter wedding – she realises just how much she secretly dreams of falling in love too.

 Then she meets a handsome man on a motorbike who sets her pulse racing. But Ama knows it can never be. Because he’s her very traditional parents’ absolute worst nightmare… And she knows she can never let them down.

 Do her family know best? Or can she trust her heart? And, as the snow begins to fall, will she ever find out what really does go into the recipe for true love?

 The perfect feel-good winter romance for 2018 for fans of Debbie Macomber, Jenny Colgan and Jenny Hale.

One-Winters-Day-Kindle

Buy Here

What a beautiful snowy and romantic cover this Winter romance book has, I especially loved the little robin sitting on the fence.

I have enjoyed several of Laura Briggs books but didn’t realise that this was the second in a series. I felt it a shame that I hadn’t read the previous novel and would have liked to have known more about the characters backgrounds.

The book is centred around three wedding planners and friends Tessa, Ama, and Natalie. All have distinct roles within the business, they are completely different and I found their stories fascinating. Ama does all the catering, including the wedding cakes. Her family wants her to have a traditional Indian matchmaker wedding, but she just wants to wait until the man of her dreams comes along. I loved Ama’s family, staunch traditionalists yet incredibly loving and supportive of each other (and very funny!)

What stands out in Laura Briggs writing is the amazing detail she uses to describe the amazing bakes, beautiful gowns, and breathtaking locations. You actually feel like you have been transported to the most stunning wedding venues, with immaculate attention to detail and descriptions that bounce off the pages.

The theme isn’t overly Christmassy, in fact, its perfect for this time of year when the days get colder and the nights draw in. So grab a warm blanket and hot chocolate and settle down for a gorgeous, comforting, cosy read.

Screen Shot 2018-10-04 at 11.26.58

 

Author Bio:

Laura Briggs is the author of several lighthearted romance novels and novellas, including the bestselling Amazon UK series A Wedding in Cornwall. She has a fondness for vintage-style dresses (especially ones with polka dots) and reads everything from Jane Austen to modern day mysteries. When she’s not writing, she enjoys spending time with family, caring for her pets, going to movies and plays, and trying new restaurants.

 

Author Social Media Links:

Website: https://paperdollwrites.blogspot.com/

 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/PaperDollWrites

 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorlaurabriggs/

 

Goodreads:

 

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/230209.Laura_Briggs?from_search=true

 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: