Perfect Girls by Alison James (Book Review)

Today I am over the moon to be part of the Bog Tour for Perfect Girls by Alison James. Thank you to Noelle at Bookouture for giving me the chance to take part and for supplying me with a copy, in exchange for an honest review.

Perfect Girls - Blog Tour

Phoebe. Tiffany. Melissa. They all made one little mistake…

When twenty-five-year-old Phoebe Stiles opens the door to her perfect apartment she doesn’t realise it’s the mistake that will kill her…

The body of the beautiful English girl is discovered months later – dumped behind the back of a department store. But who was the stranger she let into the safety of her home?

As Detective Rachel Prince pieces together the mystery surrounding Phoebe’s death, another young, blonde girl is found brutally murdered and abandoned in the grounds of an old theatre.

In the most dangerous case of her career, Rachel must track down the faceless individual to stop the body count rising. But to uncover the shocking truth, Rachel has to put herself at risk… can she catch the twisted killer, before they catch her?

A gripping page-turner that will have you completely hooked until the utterly jaw-dropping twist. Fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Karin Slaughter will love this crime series, featuring unforgettable Detective Rachel Prince.

pg

Buy Here

My Review

In the third of this riveting series, Detective Rachel Prince is sent to America to investigate the murder of a British girl, Phoebe Stiles. The case seems to be wrapped up quickly but Rachel has strong suspicions that the police have arrested the wrong person. Another case is unearthed which has similarities to Phoebe’s murder and then another body is found.

Rachel’s boss instructs her to return to London but Rachel can’t get Phoebe’s murder out of her head and takes annual leave to return to America and find the killer.

This time Rachel works mainly without her partner DS Brickall who is left back in the UK.  I loved Brickall’s character and the pair worked well together, the banter between them had provided some lighter moments in the previous book, which I really enjoyed.

The writing flows really well and there are plenty of twists which keep you completely gripped. I enjoyed seeing Rachel’s character develop, her steely determination and headstrong attitude is even more apparent in this book. The chapters where the story is narrated by the killer really increase the suspense and the ending has you sitting on the edge of your seat.

My review of Now She’s Gone by Alison James can be read here. This is the second book in the series, but all the books work fine as standalone.

Author Bio:

IMG_7186 

Born in the Cotswolds, Alison spent most of her formative years abroad. She studied languages at Oxford, then became a journalist and author, returning to university after her two children to take a law degree. After a three-year stint as a criminal paralegal, Alison worked as a commercial copywriter and then a TV storyliner, before coming full circle to write fiction again.

Author Social Media Links:

Website: n/a

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/alison.james.90226628

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/AlisonJbooks

2 thoughts on “Perfect Girls by Alison James (Book Review)

Add yours

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: