The Butterfly Conspiracy by Vivian Conroy, (Book Review) #Conroy10

Today I am excited to review Vivian Conroy’s tenth book, The Butterfly Conspiracy, a mystery set in Victorian times. I love the cover featuring the exotic yellow and black butterfly sitting on the delicate hand of a Victorian lady.

Description

The Butterfly Conspiracy: A Merriweather and Royston Mystery

Perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn’s Veronica Speedwell mysteries comes the enchanting series debut from Vivian Conroy, The Butterfly Conspiracy.

In late Victorian times, when new inventions cause both excitement and terror, a mysterious death at a zoological lecture brings together two unlikely allies in a quest through London’s upper crust and underbelly to unravel the ingenious murder method and killer behind it.

viv

Amazon Purchase Link

My Review

I am a big fan of Vivian Conroy’s writing and The Butterfly Conspiracy certainly didn’t disappoint. Here, yet again, we are introduced to a strong female character, Merula Merriweather, who is decades ahead of her time.

Merula’s passion is for butterflies. She spends her time, hidden away secretly researching and hatching the species. However, due to negative opinions about women gaining success in the Victorian era, Merula’s achievements are put down to the expertise of her Uncle Rupert.

At a zoological event, a lady dies soon after one of Merula’s rare and exotic butterflies lands on her arm. However, it is immediately assumed that the butterfly poisoned Lady Sophia and therefore Merula’s uncle is suspected of murder.

Merula teams up with Lord Raven Royston to clear her uncle’s name and a charismatic sleuthing duo is formed. Together the pair meticulously hunt through a web of secrets and lies to uncover the actual culprit. Royston has a strong protective side towards Merula,  she is wanted by the police as a murder witness and consequently, he is determined to uncover the truth.  l noticed the slightest hint of romance and wonder if a relationship will materialise in later books in this series.

A highly enjoyable, charming read with plenty of red herrings and food for
thought.
The Victorian era is well researched and in addition, the ending is tight and unpredictable.

Thank you to the author and NetGalley for a copy of the book which I have reviewed honestly.

Other books I have reviewed by Vivian Conroy

Death Plays A Part

Rubies in the Roses

A Proposal toDie For

Coming Soon From Vivian Conroy

vc.jpg

The perfect cosy crime bundle, featuring all three Country Gift Shop mysteries.

Bellalike.com: 15% Off $169+ Site Wide! SHOP NOW!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: