Telegrams and Teacakes by Amy Miller (Book Review)

Telegrams and Teacakes by Amy Miller (Book Review)

Today I am so happy to be part of the blog blitz for the wonderful Telegrams and Teacakes by Amy Miller. Thank you to Kim from Bookouture for inviting me to take part on the second day of the blog blitz.

Telegrams and Teacakes is a romantic World War Two saga full of heartbreak and hope, perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Nadine Dorries and Sheila Newberry. 

‘There was no denying it, being cheerful was a challenge. You just had to be grateful for small mercies. A sunny day, a night without an air raid, an extra rasher of bacon from the butcher.’

England, 1942: 23-year-old Betty runs away from Bristol to make a new life for herself. Betrayed by her husband, Betty flees to the seaside town of Bournemouth, where she has fond memories of childhood holidays. There, she finds a small family bakery, in desperate need of a new shop girl…

At the Barton BakeryBetty finds a sanctuary with shopkeeper Audrey Barton.

however, Audrey is fighting battles of her own. Her husband is at war and in grave danger, she is heavily pregnant, and her customers are horrified by the demands imposed by rationing.

Audrey’s stepsister Lily receives a letter from a man she once loved very much. A man she thought was lost to her forever. He offers her a new future with him, but one that will mean sacrificing so many of her hopes and dreams…

As Winston Churchill tells the country to ‘never give in’, the women of the Barton Bakery struggle on to keep their families, homes and loved ones safe in a time of turmoil.
                                                 Amazon Purchase Link

My Review

I didn’t know that Telegrams and Teacakes is the third in the Wartime Bakery series so I read the book from the standpoint that it was standalone. However, having read the book and loved it, I thoroughly recommend that you read the first two. As well as being beautifully written they are a must for anyone who loves a wartime saga.
The book is set in Bournemouth in 1942. Audrey is heavily pregnant and running the bakery whilst her husband is away fighting for his country. Audrey has an eye for a waif and stray, so when Betty enters the shop, Audrey knows straight away that the young girl needs help. She welcomes her into the Barton Bakery, gives her a job and makes vulnerable Betty feel right at home.
Times are hard, the bakery has strict rationing regulations to comply with and the women strive to ‘keep the home fires burning’. It always amazes me how strong these wartime women were. Faced with so much uncertainty about their loved ones, they still adapt and learn new skills, still maintaining a cheery outlook.
Audrey is exceptional in her warmth, kindness, and strength. Although pregnant, and running the bakery she also has others to care for. Her brother who is struggling mentally, his wife, a young evacuee and stepsister all look to Audrey for guidance.
The characters are warm and multi-layered and the story moves at a good pace. There is a fantastic feeling of friendship, family and above all, community spirit.
I can’t wait to read the previous books in the series Heartaches and Christmas Cakes and Wartime Brides and Wedding Cake.  As I said before they are good standalones but just too good to miss!
Thank you to Bookouture, NetGalley and the author for a copy of the book, which I have reviewed honestly.
 

About the author: 

 
Amy Miller lives in Dorset with her husband and two children. New to saga, she has previously written women’s fiction under a different name.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: