Forgive Me Not by Samantha Tonge (Book Review)

Following the exciting cover reveal for Forgive Me Not by Samantha Tonge, today I am joining the Publication Day Blog Blitz, where I get to share my review of the book.

Many thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources and the author for asking me to take part in the event.

Wishing Samantha Tonge a wonderful publication day.

Forgive Me Not longForgive Me Not

Forgiveness can be hard to come by… An unputdownable new novel from bestseller Samantha Tonge

How far would you go to make amends?

When Emma fled her home at Foxglove Farm, she’d let down and hurt those who cared for her most. But now, two years later, she’s ready to face up to her past; she’s ready to go back.

But Emma’s unannounced return causes more problems than she could have foreseen. The people she knew and loved aren’t ready to forget, let alone forgive. And the one person she wants to reconnect with the most, her mother, can’t remember who she is.

Just as Emma starts to rebuild trust, an uncovered family secret and a shocking past crime threaten her newly forged future…

Sometimes simply saying sorry isn’t enough.

Perfect for readers of Ruth Hogan or Amanda Prowse, this is an extraordinary and unforgettable novel about running away from yourself – and finding a way back.

Forgive Me Not 2

Amazon Purchase Link

My Review

I previously read One Summer in Rome by Samantha Tonge, and I just knew that I would be in for another treat. This book has a harder edge to it but the characters and plot were equally as compelling and the author doesn’t shy away from some sensitive subjects. The issues are extremely well researched, informative and thought-provoking.

The main character Emma returns to her former home, Foxglove Farm, to make amends for something she did in the past. Her family are hostile, even the villagers and the pub landlord are unhappy to see her back, but what could she have done that was so bad?

The book takes us back to what happened to Emma whilst she was away, and she certainly had a rough time, but the reader is not told why Emma’s life hit rock bottom until much later. This kept me gripped and made me think how easily life can turn on its head and the unthinkable can happen to almost anyone.

The book is about forgiveness and new starts in life. Emma seems determined to do whatever she has to do to regain her place in the family. Since she left, her mother’s health has deteriorated rapidly, and sister Andrea feels angry that she has been her mother’s carer along with running the farm almost singlehandedly.

The characters are completely believable, flawed and strong. I wasn’t sure about some of them at first, but in typical Samantha Tonge style, the reasons become apparent as the story unfolds. I loved how the family sheepdog accepted Emma back without hesitation, it was heartwarming to see that one relationship could never be broken.

 Thank you to the author and NetGalley for a copy of the book which I have reviewed honestly.Forgive Me Not Header 2

 

 About Samantha Tonge

Sam Tonge - Canelo (1)

 

Samantha Tonge lives in Manchester UK and her passion, second to spending time with her husband and children, is writing. She studied German and French at university and has worked abroad, including a stint at Disneyland Paris. She has travelled widely.

When not writing she passes her days cycling, baking and drinking coffee. Samantha has sold many dozens of short stories to women’s magazines.

In 2013, she landed a publishing deal for romantic comedy fiction with HQDigital at HarperCollins and in 2014, her bestselling debut novel, Doubting Abbey, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award. In 2015 her summer novel, Game of Scones, hit #5 in the UK Kindle chart and won the Love Stories Awards Best Romantic Ebook category.

Links

Twitter: https://twitter.com/SamTongeWriter

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SamanthaTongeAuthor

Website: http://samanthatonge.co.uk/

Also by Samantha Tonge

one summer final cover (1)

Buy Link

Here is my review



  2 comments for “Forgive Me Not by Samantha Tonge (Book Review)

  1. 23rd July 2018 at 10:37 am

    Lovely review 💜❤

    • waggytalesdogblog
      23rd July 2018 at 11:32 am

      Thank you so much Priyasha

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: