The Guernsey Novels Blog Tour and #Giveaway. (#BookReview) Dangerous Waters by Anne Allen @AnneAllen @_Globeflower_

Today I am thrilled to be taking part in The Blog Tour of the Guernsey Novels by Anne Allen, I have read and reviewed the first book in the series ‘Dangerous Waters’.

Thank you to The Globeflower Agency Ltd for inviting me to take part and organising the blog tour for these six wonderful novels.

 

guer

Blog Tour Organised by The Globeflower Agency Ltd

 

The Guernsey Novels

Anne Allen’s fascinating book series, The Guernsey Novels, comprises six standalone novels. All the stories in her novel series, take place predominantly on the island of Guernsey and are linked by characters popping up from one book to another.

They provide an ongoing story of a ‘village’ spread, so far, over 6 years. Each book is standalone with fresh new lead characters with their own links to the German Occupation during World War 2, having an impact on the present.

The Guernsey Novels are a mix of mystery, family drama, and love story and influenced by the author’s love of the island where she spent many happy years. Guernsey itself is always a main character in the books, offering a gorgeous backdrop to all the sorrows, joys and tragedies she describes.

The Guernsey Novels are available from all leading bookstores:

Dangerous Waters

Finding Mother

Guernsey Retreat

The Family Divided

Echoes of Time

The Betrayal

 

DANGEROUS WATERS, BOOK 1 OF THE GUERNSEY NOVELS

dw

Dangerous Waters is the first of The Guernsey Novels, linked but standalone stories, which will appeal to fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.
Tragedy seems to follow Jeanne Le Page around . . .
Can she really go through it again and survive?
She is lucky to be alive … at sixteen Jeanne was almost killed in a boating accident which brought heart-breaking family tragedy. Now, fifteen years later, Jeanne returns reluctantly to the island of Guernsey following the death of her beloved grandmother. Struggling for breath as the ferry nears the island; she is overwhelmed by a dark foreboding as hazy memories of that terrible day resurface…
Only returning to sell her inheritance – her grandmother’s old cottage – Jeanne has no intention of picking up her old life. But the cottage holds a secret, dating back to World War II and the German Occupation, and Jeanne becomes drawn into discovering more. Then, soon after her arrival, a chance meeting with an old teenage crush leads her to thoughts of love.
Jeanne is forced to face her demons, reliving the tragedy as her lost memory returns.
When the truth is finally revealed, her life is endangered for the second time…

 

 

MY REVIEW 

This is the second book I have read from The Guernsey Novels series and I found both books extremely enjoyable and the wonderful location of Guernsey makes these books seriously special.

Although they are part of a series, both books worked well as standalone novels (I actually read book 6 first)

At the beginning of the book, Jeanne returns to Guernsey to see the cottage which has been left to her in her grandmother’s will. The cottage has been sadly neglected in the past few years and as Jeanne wanders around memories of her happy childhood flood back to her.

Sadly, Jeanne has only returned to Guernsey to sell the cottage. The island holds too much heartache for Jeanne to consider moving back because sixteen years previously a terrible accident happened which has traumatised Jeanne ever since.

Anne Allen shows her great love and knowledge for Guernsey in Dangerous Waters. I wanted to visit Guernsey after reading The Betrayal, but now I feel that I really must go and see this beautiful, history-rich, island. Ms. Allen knows how to weave a great story. The book has plenty of romance and intrigue to keep the pages turning, with interesting characters and a mystery that keeps you guessing.

Thank you to The Globeflower Agency and Anne Allen for the copy of the book which I have reviewed honestly.

For my review of The Betrayal, Book 6 of The Guernsey Novels series, please take a look at my review here.

AA

About the Author Anne Allen

Anne Allen lives in Devon, by her beloved sea. She has three children and her daughter and two grandchildren live nearby. She was born in Rugby, to an English mother and Welsh father. As a result she spent many summers with her Welsh grandparents in Anglesey and learnt to love the sea.

Her restless spirit has meant a number of moves which included Spain for a couple of years. The longest stay was in Guernsey for nearly fourteen years after falling in love with the island and the people. She contrived to leave one son behind to ensure a valid reason for frequent returns.

By profession Anne was a psychotherapist but has long had creative ‘itches’, learning to mosaic, paint furniture, interior design and sculpt. At the back of her mind the itch to write was always present but seemed too time-consuming for a single mum with a need to earn a living. Now retired from the ‘day job’, there’s more time to write and Anne has now published six books in The Guernsey Novels series. She will be publishing her seventh novel later in the year.

To find out more about Anne visit her website: you can also find her on Twitter and Facebook.

If you too would love to visit the island of Guernsey please enter this exciting prize draw to win a 2 night break and signed copies of the books.

give

win

 

The Guernsey Novels Prize Draw

2 thoughts on “The Guernsey Novels Blog Tour and #Giveaway. (#BookReview) Dangerous Waters by Anne Allen @AnneAllen @_Globeflower_

Add yours

  1. Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review Anne Allen’s novel and for taking part in the blog tour.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: