Her Secret by Kelly Florentia (Book Review)

Today I am delighted to kick off the Blog Tour for Her Secret by Kelly Florentia. Thank you to Kelly @LoveBookGroup for organising the tour and inviting me to take part.

her secret (1)

 

When one door closes, another opens, or so the saying goes.

After being in a long-term relationship for eight years, Audrey Fox never thought she’d tie the knot. But at the age of forty-two, fate throws her a lifeline and she finally has it all – a loving husband, successful career, beautiful family and loyal friends. Life couldn’t be better for Audrey … until a family member entrusts her with a secret that threatens trouble in paradise.

Lying to her new husband definitely wasn’t on the cards when Audrey took her vows, but now she feels there’s no other choice. She either keeps the secret or risks hurting the people that she loves. And then just when the dust seems to settle, an old flame turns up and creates a storm that could bring her world crashing down …

Unable to discuss her dilemma with her significant friends Louise and Tina, or sister-in-law Vicky, the cracks begin to show. Torn between her husband and the people she’s known and loved for years, Audrey’s perfect life begins to spiral out of control. Where do her loyalties lie and whom can she trust? Because there’s no smoke without fire and everyone has secrets … don’t they?

HER_SECRET_COVER_FINAL.indd

Amazon Product Link

PUB DATE: 17TH May 2018
ISBN: 9781911583684
PRICE: £8.99
EXTENT: 304 Pages
DIMENSIONS: B format paperback
CATEGORY: Women’s fiction, contemporary
fiction, adult romance, chick-lit
BIC CODE: FA, FRD
REGIONS: World

Following the events of No Way Back, Her Secret sees our
heroine, Audrey Fox, now married to Daniel. But Daniel’s grown
daughter Connie is still causing trouble in paradise and it is not
long before Audrey is neck deep in secrets and lies, and once
more searching for true love and happiness.
Her Secret is the brilliant third novel of up-and-coming chick-lit
author Kelly Florentia. Perfect for fans of Fiona Gibson, Marian
Keyes, Sheila O’Flanagan and Lisa Jewell it is a wonderful
contemporary adult romance.

 

My Review

First of all, I have to say that I didn’t realise that this book was a sequel. It still works as a standalone but I would have preferred to read  No Way Back first and get to know the characters better. I did find it a little confusing at first with lots of female characters and trying to work out which were friends, colleagues or family etc

From a distance, it appears that Audrey has a perfect life. She is newly married to Daniel, has a great career, loving family and a close-knit group of friends, but from early in the book you get the feeling that all is not quite right.

First, there is the mysterious bunch of flowers with a cryptic note, the dark vehicle slowly passing by the house and an ex who appears to be hated by Audrey’s close friends. Then there is Audrey’s husband Daniel who seems loving one minute but controlling and deceitful the next.

Kelly Florentia has a lovely writing style with a complete array of interesting characters and a plot which gathers momentum and builds to an epic page-turner. The secrets are entwined beautifully around Audrey’s family and friends and the storyline keeps you guessing to the end.

Thank you to Kelly, the author, and publisher for providing a copy which I reviewed honestly.

 

“A brilliantly-woven tale of love, friendship,
heartbreak and hope – I couldn’t put it down.”
Jill Finlay Fiction Editor of The Weekly News
“a must-read for anyone who loves intelligent,
grown-up romance” – Louise Douglas, bestselling
author of The Secrets Between Us

About The Author

Kelly Florentia was born and bred in north London, where she
continues to live with her husband Joe. Her debut novel THE
MAGIC TOUCH was published in March 2016. TO TELL A TALE
OR TWO… is a collection of her short tales. Kelly has a keen
interest in health and fitness and has written many articles on
the subject. SMOOTH OPERATOR (published in January 2017) is
a collection of twenty of her favourite smoothie recipes. No
Way Back was published by Urbane in Sept 2017.

no way back

Amazon Product Link

Twitter Links
 
@UrbaneBooks
 
@kellyflorentia
 
#LoveBooksGroupTours 

 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: