Review, True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop by Annie Darling

With Valentine’s day just around the corner, I decided to cast aside my psychological thrillers and get romantically inspired with this book by Annie Darling. I was looking for a book which would add some colour to the bleak, cold wintery days and True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop was just the right choice..

Description

It’s a truth universally acknowledged that a single woman in possession of a good job, four bossy sisters and a needy cat must also have want of her one true love. Or is it?

Another delightful novel from the author of The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan

Verity Love – Jane Austen fangirl and an introvert in a world of extroverts – is perfectly happy on her own (thank you very much), and her fictional boyfriend Peter is very useful for getting her out of unwanted social events. But when a case of mistaken identity forces her to introduce a perfect stranger as her boyfriend, Verity’s life suddenly becomes much more complicated.

Johnny could also use a fictional girlfriend. Against Verity’s better judgement, he persuades her to partner up for a summer season of weddings, big number birthdays and garden parties, with just one promise – not to fall in love with each other…

tl

My Review

This is the first book I have read by Annie Darling and I will definitely be hunting out the previous novel in the series The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts.

Verity Love is an introvert in a world full of extroverts. She hates small talk, mingling and any sort of noise. She lives alone, above a bookshop where she also works and has a cat called Strumpet.

The problem is, although she is happy being single, her friends and family are constantly trying to set her up. She needs a fake boyfriend so that people leave her alone. When she meets Johnny, he happily jumps into the role of fake boyfriend, as long as Verity exchanges the favour. There then follows months of weddings, birthdays and housewarming parties that Verity has to attend as Johnny’s new love interest, even though she hates social gatherings.

Verity is a vicars daughter and one of five sisters. I adored the Love family and all their quirkiness. The vicar is a keen beekeeper and his wife happily feeds any waif or stray that turns up on the doorstep so the house is chaotic and noisy. Verity loves her family but she is the black sheep, preferring to read a book than join in at rowdy family get-togethers.

Her favourite book is ‘Pride and Prejudice’ and the story has many references and similarities to Verity’s life. Her constant catchphrase ‘What would Elizabeth Bennett do?’ was inspired and she instantly dismissed any possible suitor who was not extremely familiar with the Jane Austin novel.

This isn’t a predictable, sugar-coated chick lit. It is well written, witty and warm with characters you would love to meet in real life. I was sad when it ended because it felt like losing a friend, I hope we get to learn more about the characters of The Lonely Hearts Bookshop very soon.

Thank you to NetGalley for the opportunity to review this book in exchange for an honest review.

Purchase Links

Available from Amazon UK

Available from Amazon.com

 

‘Romantic fiction perfection – I totally fell in love!’ Cressida McLaughlin

‘Delightful’ THE SUN

‘A funny, beautiful, cozy little tale… the perfect piece of escapism!’ Cesca (Cescalizziereads)

‘Heart-breakingly funny, warm, and tugs at the heart strings’ Agi (OnMyBookshelf)

Praise for Annie Darling:

‘Sophisticated, romantic, compelling and absolutely charming. A brilliant new addition to the romantic comedy genre, I loved it’ Alex Brown

‘Get ready to fall in love … an instant heart-warmer’ RED

‘A delightful romcom’ PRIMA

‘Completely hilarious and breathtakingly romantic’ Cressida McLaughlin

About the Author

Annie Darling lives in London in a tiny flat, which is bursting at the seams with teetering piles of books.

Her two greatest passions in life are romance novels and Mr Mackenzie, her British Shorthair cat.

Other Books by Annie Darling

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review, True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop by Annie Darling

Add yours

  1. Thanks for sharing this book review. I’m always looking for books my mom would enjoy as well as books for myself. So I appreciate you sharing this piece on a lonely hearts, Jane Austen inspired story.

    1. I loved it because I could see myself in the main character (introverted and anti social, lol) and the Pride and Prejudice connection….what can I say? I even called my dog Mr Darcy!
      Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: